In Pursuit of Perfume: Flowerbomb

I have never been a huge fan of perfumes. Even with the myriad of different flavors, colors and ingredients, most of them end up smelling like, well, perfume. Maybe that’s the fault of perfume makers, but it might just be the fault of my own untrained nose. If that’s the case, I want to start learning more about fragrance, and maybe (hopefully!) I’ll find one that I can’t live without.

Today I tried Vikor & Rolf’s Flowerbomb. I had to: the packaging is just fantastic, and even though the whole concept of a floral-type perfume is super-girly and pink, it was offset by the use of black. And the name is just dynamite. Since I grabbed a spritz at Nordstrom on my way to a wedding, I was a little concerned that it would be too heavy and grandma-ish, but it was pleasantly light but not cloying at all. Now, much later, it’s still pleasant. I feel a bit like a floral shop, but I want to find my best romantic summer clothes and go frolic in a meadow.

» Breakdown: Bergamot, Tea. Jasmine, Freesia, Orchid. Centiflora Rose, Patchouli.

» Does it pass the brother test?* No.

*The brother test: If he can smell it from more than three feet away, or if it reminds him of our middle school principal (who you could smell coming from at least 20 feet), it fails. This isn’t a make-it-or-break-it test, but it’s good for judging a male reaction.

» Verdict: Thumbs up, but it’s not ‘me’ enough for everyday use.

2 thoughts on “In Pursuit of Perfume: Flowerbomb

  1. Flowerbomb is one of those scents I dismissed at first but am slowly growing more fond of the more I use it. I don’t think I can wear it everyday either, but I’ll join you in spritzing myself and throwing on some romantic clothes for a meadow frolic once the weather gets warmer. 😀

Leave a Reply

