Outfitted: 21 September

This is an outfit dance party. I won’t tell you which band I’m listening to for fear of being branded deeply uncool (or even unhip, which is grounds for being exiled from Portland), and because I just read Tavi‘s profile in the New Yorker, I’m not feeling particularly cool or hip. Yay for having friends whose boyfriends buy them subscriptions to classy magazines?

I won’t lie and say Tavi hasn’t been an influence on this blog, because she has (she reminds me that writing on the internet doesn’t have to be perfect–it’s usually better when it’s not), but sometimes I look at the blogging market, and it seems like blogs are tending toward the image side of fashion (bloggers becoming spokesladies and models) instead of the criticism side of fashion (although Tavi has written for legit magazines…but who else? I guess Winona has done pretty well for herself.) I want to keep this blog up, and I sometimes want to put a lot of effort into it, but I’m not really sure why. It plagues me.

What would you like to see on this blog?

Outfit-wise, this is a version of what I’ve been wearing to work lately. Flats, so I can lug files around without killing myself, some sort of skirt because I only own two pairs of pants that fit, and sweaters that can toggle on or off depending on the psychotic air conditioning unit by my desk.

Sweater & Skirt: Ann Taylor Loft. Tee & Necklace: F21. Shoes: Payless. Bag: Lulu.

4 thoughts on “Outfitted: 21 September

  1. Adorbs! And I think you should keep up the blog because you are an awesome writer. And because you enjoy it, I assume? Who knows. All I know is I’m reading it, so KEEP WRITING.

  2. Yay, an outfit post! I like the ensemble. πŸ™‚

    What would you like to see on this blog?
    Hmm… what would YOU like to do with this blog? Do what interests you the most about fashion. Be it critiquing, chronicling your own style evolution, or what have you.

  3. Your fashion sense is so uniquely You. Don’t ask me to describe it, but I could pick it out! As to that one, I like the ruffles on the skirt. RUFFLES.

    I like “what I’m wearing” or outfit posts like the head of this one, and also your reviews. (Though I can only recall perfume reviews. They were amusing, especially your brother’s input.)

    I would enjoy analyses of people’s outfits/clothes, of the sort “here’s what they’re wearing, here’s what’s working for them, here’s what’s not, here’s where they could do better…” I’m always interested in how a design is composed and criticisms thereof.

    I agree with the other commenters. You do it because you enjoy it, yeah? Go through your posts and figure out which ones you enjoyed the most. Plan a short arc you could do in one of those themes, research, photograph, write, ???, profit!

  4. I really want those shoes. They look so cute and comfy!

    I hear ya on the difficulties of figuring out “where to go from here” after blogging for a while, especially when other demands of life takes over. Just do it because you like to, and let your heart take the blog toward whichever direction it desires. I enjoy reading posts on personal style because each person has a different reason for putting together an outfit or a different take on a “trend.” That said, I don’t think posts have to be confined to a particular theme. I’ve found that my own blog has expanded into subject areas that are far from what I originally intended. If there’s something that you’ve wanted to explore, even if it’s outside of fashion, why not? The bottom line is to just be yourself. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

